Neopolitan Layered Cupcakes

Posted on July 28, 2011

0


As everyone knows by now, I’m always on the computer. It’s been a little bit harder to hang out on the web between my job and actually hanging out with people, instead of just talking about getting together on Facebook. One day when I was scrolling through my blog dashboard, I found a picture of chocolate layered neopolitan cupcakes. But there was one problem- NO LINK TO THE RECIPE! It’s one of my biggest pet peeves when people post food pictures with no recipes. Thankfully, I’ve gotten really good at improvising, as I’ve said before. And it was pretty basic recipes. A chocolate cake, and three flavored icings- vanilla, chocolate and strawberry. I had started Weight Watchers in May and was doing really well… Needless to say, summer hasn’t really helped me stay on track, but I’m gonna be getting it all back together once school starts. One of the cool things Weight Watchers has is eTools. It’s a website that gives you access to tons of recipes, among a place where you can track your activity and points. Basically all you have to do is type in a food you want and if you’re lucky, a lower calorie recipe with point calculations pops up! So I typed in chocolate cake and found a recipe for 8 points including icing. While this is still a nice amount of points, for a treat, it’s great. I just googled icing recipes and it was as simple as that!

Ingredients

1 3/4 cup(s) all-purpose flour
1 3/4 cup(s) packed light brown sugar
3/4 cup(s) unsweetened cocoa
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp table salt
6 Tbsp fat-free margarine
1 1/4 cup(s) buttermilk
3 large egg white(s)
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup(s) water, boiling
2 oz milk chocolate chips, about 4 Tbsp
6 Tbsp fat-free skim milk
16 oz powdered sugar

Instructions

  • Preheat oven to 350ºF. Coat two 9-inch round or square cake pans with cooking spray; set aside.
  • To make the cake, combine flour, brown sugar, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a large bowl. Mix well with a fork to break up brown sugar; set aside.
  • Melt 4 tablespoons of margarine. Combine buttermilk, egg whites, melted margarine and 1 1/2 teaspoons of vanilla extract in a large mixing bowl; using an electric mixer, mix on low speed until blended. Gradually beat in boiling water and then add flour mixture; mix on low speed until blended.
  • Pour batter into prepared pans and bake until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean, about 30 minutes. Cool cakes in pans on a wire rack for 20 minutes; invert cakes onto rack, remove pans and cool completely.
  • Meanwhile, to make the frosting, melt remaining 2 tablespoons of margarine in a small saucepan over medium-low heat. Add milk and chocolate chips; cook until blended and smooth, stirring constantly with a wire whisk, about 3 minutes. Remove from heat, transfer to a large mixing bowl and stir in remaining 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract; cover surface with plastic wrap and refrigerate until cool, about 15 minutes. Using an electric mixer on low speed, gradually add powdered sugar and mix until blended.
  • To assemble cake, spread 1/2 cup of frosting on the top of one cake layer. Top with second cake layer and spread remaining frosting over top and sides; slice into 16 pieces and serve.
You can just google a simple buttercream for the vanilla, use half the batch and then add strawberry puree or preserve to make the rest strawberry. I used a serrated knife to cut each cake into three layers and it’s definitely not as hard as it looks!
I have this problem where I don’t actually eat my own baked goods, I try everything in steps. I’ll always have an extra cupcake so that I can taste the cake and see if I like the consistency and flavor. Then I’ll try the icing, but I rarely rarely ever try them together because I’m always giving them away! This time, as I was giving away the last cupcake to my good friend Alex, I asked for a bite… And let me tell you- You could have told me I had just eaten a scoop of Neopolitan ice cream and I would have been completely fooled. They were amazing!

 

Posted in: Cupcakes