Berry Summer Cupcakes

Posted on May 18, 2011

0


So literally the night Chris came home from college, he decided it was time to bake… unfortunately, after running out to the store and picking up a box of white cake mix (normally I bake from scratch but it was 11pm), we realized we didn’t have eggs so it was set to the side. The next day, I had an idea, so I went next door and stole 3 eggs from my neighbors. I wasn’t going to make a regular white cake with buttercream frosting, oh no. I was going to make it original.

A box of white America’s Choice cake mix calls for 3 egg whites, 1 1/4 cup water and 1/3 oil, if I remember correctly. Basically what I did is used my knowledge of apple sauce in cakes and the realization that my mom bought mixed berry apple sauce that week and it just clicked. Instead of all the oil, I eyeballed maybe 2 tbsp into the bowl and added a serving of the mixed berry apple sauce. The batter turned a slight pink. Now to the filling.

Strawberry Cream Cheese filling:

1 stick butter

1 8 oz. package of cream cheese

2 cups confectioner’s sugar

1 tsp vanilla

2 tbsp milk

3 tbsp strawberry preserve

– First I put the butter and cream into a bowl and put it into the microwave for a bit too long.. this was my first mistake because this was originally going to be the icing. After heating up the butter/cream cheese mixture, I added the confectioner’s sugar. It started melting in and ended up being really glue like. I was immediately unhappy. Then I decided… Hmm this is a filling type consistency, so I went to the fridge and tried to think of what else I could add.
– I left the fridge with milk, vanilla and strawberry preserve.
– I added all three ingredients and tasted it. A great strawberry cream cheese filling had prevailed.

Almond Whipped topping:

1 cup whipping cream

1/2 cup confectioner’s sugar

2 tsp almond extract

– Whip the cream with an electric mixer until fluffy, adding intervals of sugar along the way.
– Add in almond extract and keep fluffing
– Put into bag and pipe onto cooled cupcakes as if it was an icing, then refrigerate.

*email me for questions regarding this recipe, since it is my own

Posted in: Cupcakes