Wedge Salads

Posted on March 18, 2011

0


Recently my parents have fallen in love with wedge salads, just like the ones they serve at Friday’s or the Cheesecake Factory. For their little Valentine’s Day dinner that I cooked for them, I decided to treat them to a salad I daydreamed about. Let me tell you, if you’re a salad lover, this salad takes the cake and I’m not just patting my own back- it was delicious! I was cruising the web and I found a blog called Une-Deux Senses. As I was scrolling through her awesome food, fashion and baking blog, I found a recipe for her Granny Smith and Gouda salad. I wasn’t so into her salad recipe, but the dressing made me do a double take. Of course, because I’m super forgetful and didn’t realize how many ingredients I didn’t have in my kitchen, I had to improvise, which is something I’m definitely getting better at in the kitchen. I went to the store, bought a head of Iceberg lettuce, unwrapped it and smashed it on the counter; I tore out the lettuce heart, cut it in half and I was ready to dress!

Wedge Salad (yields 2 large salads or 4 small salads):
1 head Iceberg lettuce
1 pound of bacon, plenty + enough for snacking
Walnuts
1 Fuji apple
Bleu cheese crumbles
1/2 red onion

For the green apple vinaigrette:
1/2 Granny Smith apple, cored and coarsely chopped
1/3 cup apple cider vinegar
1 tbsn. Dijon mustard
3 tbsn. honey
3 tbsn. minced onion
2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. pepper
2/3 cup vegetable oil
1 tsp Ranch dressing

Assembly:
1. Put bacon in pan, cook until very, very crispy. Paper towel the grease off and mince into little bits. This should be easy if you made it extra crispy.
2. Remove lettuce heart and dirty outer layers, then cut either into halves or fourths, depending if it’s an appetizer or a meal.
3. Place the half onto a plate then drizzle in as much dressing as desired.
4. Thinly slice the onion, apple and half the walnuts.
5. Sprinkle bacon, bleu cheese crumbles, walnuts, and apple and onion slices over lettuce bed. It’s all about how much of each ingredient you want. Always more of the ones you love!
6. Serve with fork AND knife! These babies will need some cutting in to.

Posted in: Cooking